In every nation of the world, women's shelters and crisis centres provide lifesaving refuge and support for women and children fleeing violence, helping them to plan for safety and new lives.  In the conference workshops, plenary sessions, caucuses and regional meetings, delegates from 96 countries will share their knowledge, experiences, and effective strategies on wide-ranging issues addressed by women's shelters, refuges, transition houses and crisis centers.

Bringing together more than 1,400 delegates and women world leaders from 96 countries, including Canada, Australia, Sweden, New Zealand, Denmark, Mexico, Iran, Mongolia, Egypt and the Syrian Arab Republic, and four U.S. territories, and 220 presenters from 35 countries, the 2nd World Conference of Women’s Shelters provides a unique opportunity to create an ongoing global network that supports survivors worldwide. Survivors and advocates will share experiences and learn from each other, which will strengthen everyone's approaches to addressing violence against women in communities globally.

Attending advocates include leading international experts in healthcare and public policy; survivors and family members who have been struck by tragedy; and front-line advocates doing life-saving work everyday. We are also pleased to be joined by Her Royal Highness Crown Princess Mary of Denmark; Actress, Avon Ambassador and Honorary Chair of the Avon Foundation, Reese Witherspoon; Actor, Athlete, Activist, Author Victor Rivers; Singer and champion for women’s rights, Gloria Gaynor; Senior Advisor to President Barack Obama and Chair of the White House Council on Women and Girls, Valerie Jarrett; Director of the United States Department of Justice's Office on Violence Against Women, Susan B. Carbon; United States Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women's Issues, Ambassador Melanne Verveer; corporate leaders from The Allstate Foundation, Avon and Avon Foundation for Women, and Verizon Foundation.

Global ambassadors and dignitaries joining Crown Princess Mary of Denmark include Ambassador Peter Taksøe-Jensen (Danish Embassy), Ambassador Shankar Sharma (Nepal Embassy), Ambassador Constancio Pinto (Timor-Leste), and Secretary of State for the Promotion of Equality Idelta Rodrigues (Timor-Leste).