Webinars

Upcoming GNWS webinar May 6 about fundraising to keep shelter services going

Upcoming Webinars

Please join the Global Network of Women’s Shelters (GNWS) for two upcoming webinars. Each webinar will be an opportunity to hear from the VAW/GBV field, with panelists from across the globe, as they discuss the impact of COVID-19 on essential services and survivors. After the webinar on 6 May, webinars will occur every two weeks instead of weekly.

Wednesday 6 May

  • 6:00 PM Washington, DC | 11:00 PM London, UK | 1:00 AM Istanbul, TU | 3:30 AM Mumbai, IN | 6:00 AM Hong Kong | 8:00 AM Sydney, AU
  • This webinar will focus on fundraising to keep shelter services going during a public health crisis. Panelists will share stories of accessing additional funds during the COVID-19 pandemic to continue and expand their work.
  • Registration Link: https://nnedv.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Iw-70abjRVaTqWw47MF4Dw

Wednesday 20 May (Note: this webinar was original scheduled for 13 May)

Previous Webinars

Missed an earlier webinar? Watch previous GNWS webinars on COVID-19 by clicking the links below.

29 April 2020: https://bit.ly/GNWS_6

22 April 2020: https://bit.ly/serving_survivors

15 April 2020: https://bit.ly/GNWS_4

8 April 2020: https://bit.ly/GNWSTech

1 April 2020: https://shelterasia.org/2020/04/01/report-on-coronavirus-webinar-2-policy-perspectives-on-protection-of-victims-of-domestic-violence/

25 March 2020: https://shelterasia.org/2020/03/27/video-and-qa-from-the-coronavirus-and-womens-shelters-planning-preparation-and-response-to-the-covid-19-pandemic-webinar/

Every GNWS webinar is recorded and sent to all registrants afterward. If you can’t make a webinar, we will still make sure you receive the information!

GNWS Women’s Helplines Project

During the COVID-19 pandemic, we know victims of domestic violence are on ‘lockdown’ at home with abusive partners due to stay home orders from their governments. Countries around the globe are reporting escalation of domestic violence and increased Google searches for help for domestic violence; abusive individuals are using the COVID-19 pandemic as another means to control and abuse. Even if a victim is unable to leave their home at this time, domestic violence and sexual violence services can provide essential support to help the victim remain safe.

Direct help is essential for victims of domestic and sexual violence and a helpline is one of the most important ways of ensuring victims can find help and support. To support all victims during this unique time and beyond, GNWS is collecting the national helpline for every country so victims and their friends and family have a place to find accurate support. Even if your country doesn’t have a national helpline, we want to know! In response to the pandemic, we are also asking about text, chat, and email helplines.

The included map shows countries we have received information from. Those in purple currently have a national helpline, those in red do not. Click the map to go to GNWS.org for a larger image and more information. Please take a few minutes to complete this brief form so we can continue to update our list of helplines. If you have already completed the form, thank you so much. Your information is greatly appreciated!

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSc3ykdy9kjBqce58cGvFmpKv6DHiblZNnnWH6m0vmoqcAb67A/viewform

Not subscribed to the GNWS Announcements Listserv? Click the link below to subscribe NOW!
https://lists.gnws.org/lists/subscribe/announcement

We want to make sure facilitation with survivors is engaging, easily understood, and effective. What are some recommended tools or strategies to think through when deciding on platforms or applications to engage with survivors?

Here are some links on mobile advocacy – https://www.techsafety.org/resources-agencyuse/cell-phone-bestpractices and https://www.techsafety.org/resources-agencyuse/mobilecomputing-bestpractices

Emergency website exit