Global Network of Women's Shelters

Upcoming Webinars

Please join the Global Network of Women’s Shelters (GNWS) for two upcoming webinars. Each webinar will be an opportunity to hear from the VAW/GBV field, with panelists from across the globe, as they discuss the impact of COVID-19 on essential services and survivors. After the webinar on 6 May, webinars will occur every two weeks instead of weekly.

Wednesday 6 May

6:00 PM Washington, DC | 11:00 PM London, UK | 1:00 AM Istanbul, TU | 3:30 AM Mumbai, IN | 6:00 AM Hong Kong | 8:00 AM Sydney, AU

This webinar will focus on fundraising to keep shelter services going during a public health crisis. Panelists will share stories of accessing additional funds during the COVID-19 pandemic to continue and expand their work.

Registration Link: https://nnedv.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Iw-70abjRVaTqWw47MF4Dw

Wednesday 20 May (Note: this webinar was original scheduled for 13 May)

10:00 AM Washington, DC | 3:00 PM London, UK | 5:00 PM Istanbul, TU | 7:30 PM Mumbai, IN | 10:00 PM Hong Kong | 12:00 AM Sydney, AU

Content to be determined

Registration Link: https://nnedv.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_D6zDT-2kTo-Y23ykxzLkTQ

The link below can help you find the time the webinar will be held in your time zone.

https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

Previous Webinars

Missed an earlier webinar? Watch previous GNWS webinars on COVID-19 by clicking the links below.

29 April 2020: https://bit.ly/GNWS_6

22 April 2020: https://bit.ly/serving_survivors

15 April 2020: https://bit.ly/GNWS_4

8 April 2020: https://bit.ly/GNWSTech

1 April 2020: https://shelterasia.org/2020/04/01/report-on-coronavirus-webinar-2-policy-perspectives-on-protection-of-victims-of-domestic-violence/

25 March 2020: https://shelterasia.org/2020/03/27/video-and-qa-from-the-coronavirus-and-womens-shelters-planning-preparation-and-response-to-the-covid-19-pandemic-webinar/

Every GNWS webinar is recorded and sent to all registrants afterward. If you can’t make a webinar, we will still make sure you receive the information!

GNWS Women’s Helplines Project

During the COVID-19 pandemic, we know victims of domestic violence are on ‘lockdown’ at home with abusive partners due to stay home orders from their governments. Countries around the globe are reporting escalation of domestic violence and increased Google searches for help for domestic violence; abusive individuals are using the COVID-19 pandemic as another means to control and abuse. Even if a victim is unable to leave their home at this time, domestic violence and sexual violence services can provide essential support to help the victim remain safe.

Direct help is essential for victims of domestic and sexual violence and a helpline is one of the most important ways of ensuring victims can find help and support. To support all victims during this unique time and beyond, GNWS is collecting the national helpline for every country so victims and their friends and family have a place to find accurate support. Even if your country doesn’t have a national helpline, we want to know! In response to the pandemic, we are also asking about text, chat, and email helplines.

The included map shows countries we have received information from. Those in purple currently have a national helpline, those in red do not. Click the map to go to GNWS.org for a larger image and more information. Please take a few minutes to complete this brief form so we can continue to update our list of helplines. If you have already completed the form, thank you so much. Your information is greatly appreciated!

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSc3ykdy9kjBqce58cGvFmpKv6DHiblZNnnWH6m0vmoqcAb67A/viewform

Not subscribed to the GNWS Announcements Listserv? Click the link below to subscribe NOW!  https://lists.gnws.org/lists/subscribe/announcement

We want to make sure facilitation with survivors is engaging, easily understood, and effective. What are some recommended tools or strategies to think through when deciding on platforms or applications to engage with survivors?

Here are some links on mobile advocacy - https://www.techsafety.org/resources-agencyuse/cell-phone-bestpractices and https://www.techsafety.org/resources-agencyuse/mobilecomputing-bestpractices

 

Global Network of Women’s Shelters Webinar Series

The next webinar will be on April 22, 11amET: Serving survivors with COVID-19

GNWS Webinar 1, March 25 Coronavirus and women’s shelters: Planning, preparation and response to the COVID-19 pandemic

Link: https://shelterasia.org/2020/03/27/video-and-qa-from-the-coronavirus-and-womens-shelters-planning-preparation-and-response-to-the-covid-19-pandemic-webinar/
A report of this webinar is already published at the GNWS website (see News)

Webinar 2, Wednesday April 1 Report on Coronavirus Webinar 2: Policy perspectives on protection of victims of domestic violence

Link https://shelterasia.org/2020/04/01/report-on-coronavirus-webinar-2-policy-perspectives-on-protection-of-victims-of-domestic-violence/
A report of this webinar is already published at the GNWS website (see News)

Webinar 3, Wednesday, April 8 Using technology to support victims during a public health crisis
A report of this webinar will be published soon

Link https://bit.ly/GNWSTech

Webinar 4, Wednesday, April 15 at 6pm ET Using technology to support victims during a public health crisis. Register now https://nnedv.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_gpk8sZzmQx6SfC6_VmdvYA
A report of this webinar will be publshed soon

Webinar 5, Wed April 22 at 11am ET Serving survivors with COVID-19 — Sharing success stories and challenges from around the world. Register now

https://nnedv.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_UyxrRRJZQOWYEQflZFd5lw 

Webinar 6, Wed April 29 at 6pm ET Supporting women at a distance during COVID-19: Updates from Australia and New Zealand. Register now https://nnedv.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_mhauPXT7TmeRHztXftG2LQ 

Webinar 7, Wed May 6 at am ET Fundraising to keep shelter services going during a public health crisis. Register now https://nnedv.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Iw-70abjRVaTqWw47MF4Dw 

 

Is your country grey on this worldmap? That means we do not have information about the women's helplines in your country (we even like to know if there is none). Help us and fill out this google form:  questionnaire national helplines domestic and sexual violence 

We use this information to create a database and a global website lila.help to inform women, family and professionals about trustworthy helplines in every country of the world for victims of domestic and sexual violence.

More info on tab Women's Helplines

The Global Network of Women’s Shelters (GNWS) and the Asian Network of Women’s Shelters jointly organized a second webinar on April 1.
The titel of this webinar was: Policy perspectives on protection of victims of domestic violence
Speaker were Dr Twu Shiing-jer who was Minister for Health and Welfare in Taiwan during the SARS crisis. The lessons learned from the outbreak in 2003 have been credited for helping Taiwan keep COVID-19 under control.  The second speaker, also from Taiwanwas Chen I-ju is a Section Chief in the Department of Protective Services under the Ministry of Health and Welfare. Ms. Chen’s department handles domestic violence prevention services, the national domestic abuse hotline, and other programs including women’s shelters.
For more information see link below.

https://shelterasia.org/2020/04/01/report-on-coronavirus-webinar-2-policy-perspectives-on-protection-of-victims-of-domestic-violence/

The first webinar on “Coronavirus and women’s shelters: Planning, preparation and response to the COVID-19 pandemic” was Wednesday, March 25, 2020. 

Seven hundred people from all over the world registered for the webinar. The following is the video of the event and answers to some of the questions posted online by participants. We are planning to hold another webinar at 6PM Taiwan time on Wednesday April 1.The Global Network of Women’s Shelters (GNWS) and the Asian Network of Women’s Shelters jointly organized a webinar on “Coronavirus and women’s shelters: Planning, preparation and response to the COVID-19 pandemic” on Wednesday, March 25, 2020. 8-9:30PM Taiwan time. 
Seven hundred people from all over the world registered for the webinar. The following is the video of the event and answers to some of the questions posted online by participants.

See the link below for more information about the content

 https://shelterasia.org/2020/03/27/video-and-qa-from-the-coronavirus-and-womens-shelters-planning-preparation-and-response-to-the-covid-19-pandemic-webinar/

NB
We are planning to hold another webinar at 9 PM East Washington time on Wednesday April 8 2020